Elven Scroll

Chapter Eleven: Distance

Thranduil's POV

As I entered the castle, I immediately stormed to my bedchamber, and just stopped, when I reached the strong oak railing, what prevented me from falling down from my balcony. There was a very good sight from here to the private gardens. I looked down, slightly trembling.

She was there.

Exactly where I left her. A little sparkling jewel in the middle of an endless black ocean. I swallowed, then let out a deep sigh. Here and now, I - the Great Elven King of Mirkwood, Thranduil, son of Oropher - had to confess, I was afraid. I was afraid, because I became so unguarded only a minute ago, I didn't think, I could be in this life again. I had to confess, I didn't know, what I would have done, if my guard hadn't arrived in time. I knew very well what I wanted to do. Only one single look into her eyes made me forget about everything I knew. The knowledge I've found in those eyes was ancient, intangible, and as great as mine never would. She owned so great power, what could easily destroy us, but still, sometimes I felt the desire to save her even from the smallest danger.

And she was innocent. Since I had the present to see the truth in the eyes, one short blink was enough to tell, she had never wanted to hurt me, or anybody else. That made it more difficult. What has this elleth done to me, for the Valar?

I looked at the sky, waiting for an answer, but everything was in vain. They could not help me. I heard a roar from below, and looked toward the sound, just to see her sitting on the ground. I grabbed the railing with both hands. It was unbearable. She was suffering, and I made her suffer. I commanded her to go away, while I didn't know anything about her. Where could she go anyway? It would be my fault, if she ended up dead somewhere a miles away.

But you can not stay here. Not in my near.

I closed my eyes, and was listening to the mix of the sound of the late autumn wind, and her crying.

'Gîl síla na lû govaded*' I whispered, even if she could not hear me.

After a last glance, I stepped back to my chamber, and informed my personal guards, I would take a rest. When they left the room, I lied onto the bed, crossed my hands under my head, and I was glaring at the ceiling. Maybe, the Starlight Fest would calm me down, and heal my soul a bit. It always did. I didn't realize my eyes closed, just when they opened again, as I heard, the garden doors were slammed noisily.

She came back – was the last clear thought, what I've found in my misty mind, before I've lost it too.

 

Noira's POV

As I flew through the door, I immediately crashed into something still.

'Ouch! King Thranduil?!' I looked up with watery eyes, but saw only a guard in armor. I could swear, he raised a brow under his helmet. There couldn't be another idiot in Middle Earth, who would have called him king until now. 'Where is he?' I asked quickly. Seemingly, he was totally immune to my distraction.

'His Majesty is probably in his bedchamber' sounded the bored answer.

'I need to speak with him, now!'

'You can not.'

'Why, what is he doing?'

'What do you usually do at midnight, my lady?'

Okay, you won.

'Lead me to him!' He didn't react. 'Then just let me go' I said angrily, and tried to step at his side, but he stepped too, and hid the road.

'I can not.'

'THEN WHY ARE YOU HERE, FOR GOD'S SAKE?!'

'To lead you to your chamber, if that is what you choose' he said voice monotone, as he would have red it from a paper.

So this is how the king meant that?

There was nothing to do here. I could not start a fight with this soldier, even if I so much desired to just run to Thranduil, and tell him I could not go.

'Then show me the way!' I ordered him nervously, and he simply turned and walked away. I followed him, cleared my face from the tears, and looked up only when we stopped in front of a huge door. He nodded, and left me there. This guy was really rude, but remembering, that I wasn't that popular at the moment, I chose not to get hurt for that. I pushed the heavy door instead, and stepped inside.

The first thing I sensed was the warm, what stroked my face gently. The room was quite big (especially after spending a month in a cell), with a huge double bed, a fireplace, in the opposite side, what was working at this moment too, a big cupboard, a small table with a chair, and a mirror. And... something shiny, in the corner. I stepped closer. My weapons were leaning to the wall, next to the great windows. I smiled. It felt like I got a present, even if they belonged to me. Heavy, dark red curtains hid the windows, and the wall also had a warm color. I couldn't tell, which shade was that, because only the fire gave a little light to the room. I sighed.

It was wonderful. Royal. Warm. Peaceful. As I was standing there for a moment, I suddenly felt, how tired I actually was. I guess, I cried out all of my energy in the last hour. Now, I wasn't sure, I could take another step. I moved my feet slowly, and neared to the bed. I stepped a last one, and collapsed onto the silky red material. I felt, it was as soft, as a cloud, but when my head touched the pillows, I immediately fell asleep.

°°

The morning came so fast, I felt like I slept only an hour. I woke up, when I heard little steps nearing. My eyes opened a little, and I saw, as the young maiden, I've seen in the evening, walked toward the window.

God, she wanted to pull the curtain out.

Ouch!

Nope. She didn't only want to. She did it. I closed my eyes tightly, as the sunshine found its way right into it. I didn't move... tried to look like a dead. Maybe, she would let me sleep a little more. Just five more minutes. The seconds have passed, but I didn't hear her go out. Hmm.

'Oh, for the Valar...' sounded her whisper from the end of the bed. She sighed, and cleared her throat. And sighed again. What the hell did she plan to do here? Soon, a trembling voice broke my confused thoughts.

'Man ammen toltha i dann hen morn
Si dannatha nauva...'

Was she seriously singing to me?

'Melmemma nóren sina

Nur ala ëaro-**'

I sat up suddenly with wide eyes open, what made her scream. She was standing in front of me with red face, and her palms on her mouth.

'You're awake!' sounded her blunt voice from behind her hands.

'Of course I am! You're singing at my feet! Eh... Well, it was beautiful, by the way' I smiled finally, and she lowered her arms.

'I am glad for your kindness, my lady. This was the very first time, I sang in public' she made a nervous smile. 'From now on, I will sing to you in every morning.' I raised my eyebrow.

'You say, you will wake me up with this?'

'Yes, my lady, it was told me, it is a tradition in the castle. It will be pleasure' she bowed.

I would be surprised.

'Eh... I don't even know your name... are you sure, the others were not only kidding?' The poor elleth was thinking a little, and her face went to a darker shade of red. I was right. Surely yesterday was her very first day here. She was still almost a child. The girl nervously murmured, that her name was Freya, and tried to find the perfect clothes for me in the huge cupboard, when I've got a smaller shock.

'Freya! Can you tell me, who was changing my clothes to nightgown last night?' I asked, stroking the soft white material on my arms.

'You don't like the one, I've chosen...' she said, looking at the ground, and I let a deep sigh out. Nevermind. Let's just not talk about it. Never.

'I'll waiting for you in your bath-chamber, and help you to be ready for dinner' she started her way toward a smaller door, on my right side.

'What time is it, oh my God! I overslept! I need to go to work, immediately!' I jumped out of the bed, and stormed into that mentioned bath-chamber.

'As I know, you don't need to work, and can sleep as long, as you would like to' she said, as followed me. 'Now, let me make your bath, at first.' I was glaring at her for a minute. Please, I was not a queen! Not even a lady.

Finally, I gave it up, and did, as she said. I was sitting on a chair next to her, while she was adding the several herbs to the water, and I looked around. It was not as big, as the one, I've used at the previous time, but still huge, and it had a kind atmosphere. In the middle, there was a rounded pool, and what stopped my breath was, right above the pool, there was a big hole in the ceiling. I could see the sky. Freya saw, I was glaring there with opened mouth.

'We think, it can heal the soul, bathing in the starlight, my lady' she explained. I nodded. That was something, I also believed in. Maybe, we are not so different. Except my ears.

'Oh, the starlight... I almost forgot. Tonight is the night of our traditional fest. I will bring a beautiful dress to you for the event. I... I've already spoken with the tailor, and given your sizes to him' she smiled, but I could not.

'You mean, there will be some kind of ball here?' She nodded.

Hmm. I wasn't sure, I was ready to spend the night with the other residents. I didn't even know them. And what should I do there? I've heard about some balls in the past, in my hometown... they were eating, drinking, talking... sounded easy. But what could I say? Because I didn't plan to discuss my past with the elven lords, I didn't even speak about it with the king. Oh, the king would be there. He would help me! Of course, if he would not be too busy... Or maybe, I could join Zella, Fräynn, or her...

'You'll come, won't you?' She shook her head.

'I am not allowed, my lady. But...' her eyes brightened up 'Maybe, I could accompany you to the entrance, and I could take a look at the party! I am sure, it will be enchanting!'

Poor girl. I made a drama, for I didn't have the mood to go, but she couldn't go, even if she wanted it so much.

In the next hour, a question didn't leave my mind. How could I appear on a fest, I was not invited for?

Meanwhile, in the real life, she washed me, dressed me, made my hair, and left me alone with the words: dinner's ready at the last ray of the Sun, we have to be ready for then. I didn't say a word, just tried not to be so frustrated, for she had seen me naked. Two times now. I didn't even know, how my body looked like. I mean... how should a normal one look like?

I was sitting in front of the mirror a little more, and was thinking. If I could see the sky from my chamber, that meant, I was on the highest floor? Or was this only an enchantment?

°°

I opened the door, and stepped out. The several steep stairs, what led me down showed me, I was definitely on that floor, yes. Two guards were standing on the sides, but they didn't move. I walked down, and soon I found a familiar hall.

Dinner, or not dinner, I had a much more important thing to do, before I would do anything else.

I took my way to the throne room. There were six guards at the entrance in armor. Whoa, they seemed violent. Seeing them, I was sure, his highness was sitting on his throne. I stopped a few meters away from them, and hid my smile.

'I need to speak with the king' I said simply. They didn't respond. I repeated it. They were still standing there without a word.

'Are you only statues?' I stepped closer, but one of them lifted his sword. 'Okay, you're real. Well... could you open the door for me?'

'You can not enter' said finally a guard from the left. I turned to him.

'Excuse me? It would take just a minute. Or less. It's very important, please!' I begged.

'No.'

'Please' I sighed.

'Forgive me, my lady, but you are not allowed-' he started, still calmly.

'But why?' I interrupted him. Somebody touched my arm, so I turned back, just to see my tall, black haired friend. 'Captain, tell him I can enter!' I begged to Fräynn now.

'You can not'

'But why?' I asked now angrily.

'Come with me' he said patiently, and led me toward the exit. We stepped out, and continued our walk in the garden. I waited for his answer, but the minutes were passing, and nothing happened.

'So why?' I asked again, and he looked at me in surprise.

'What why?'

I sighed. 'Why it is not possible for me to speak a word with the king?'

'Oh. It's his majesty's command. Why would you speak with him, anyway? If you have a problem, tell me, and I happily solve it. We can not disturb him with our personal requests.'

'Well... thank you, but I don't think, you can. It's... quite private.' I turned away and studied the elves, who were walking in the far, instead. Oh, for Light's sake, why was it so complicated? I just wanted to tell him, I was here. I've chosen to stay. I just... wanted him to know. From me. Perhaps, I was childish.

I stopped. 'Has he ordered you to keep only me away?' I asked, before I could shut my mouth. Fräynn wrinkled his forehead. 'Nevermind' I said quickly. 'You wanted to ask something. What would that be?' For this, he shook his handsome head, and let a nervous laugh out.

'Well, another private topic' he started to walk again, and I followed. 'Still, I'd be glad, if you heard me out. We – the Elves of Mirkwood – usually don't speak about something like this. We keep it to ourselves. But, since you're here, I realized, I've changed a little... On a positive way' he added.

Okay.

'I just feel something, I've never felt before. And I think, it's time to do something with it...' at that point I stopped again, and looked in his eyes. 'It's since a moon now. Since the day, we first met. Maybe, you remember that day.'

I nodded timidly.

He placed his palms onto my shoulders and pierced his gaze into mine, as continued. 'Do you know that... sentiment, when in the other's presence, you can not do anything, but smile? When only a blink from her... makes you live? I mean... This person can totally break your concentration... And your heart beats so strong, it could leave your chest... And... when she's there, you just go very weak?'

I do. I know that. Since a day. Oh, how much I know that... When your knees almost give up, and the other person magnetizes you so much, you forget in a minute, who you are, and who the other is. It is how love could feel like... No.

I've got frightened from my own thought.

Ooooh, hell no. No.

'I guess, I'm in love.'

'What?!' I asked back, and came back from my head. Fräynn blushed terribly.

'You don't know, how difficult was telling this out loud, so don't ask me to repeat it.'

'Eh... But... I won't' was everything, I could say. Please, no. Have I heard him clearly? Here was an ellon – a tall, handsome, honest, intelligent, brave, strong, funny, whateveryouwant ellon -, I liked as he was my brother, held me, and told me, he was in love. Since the day, we first met. Somebody help me!

'What do you think I should do now?' he looked at me questioning. I opened my mouth, and then, glimpsed at my friend in the far.

Thank. You.

'ZELLA, OVER HERE!' I shouted, and the captain jumped five feet high.

'Maybe next time' he said quickly, and left me there in a blink of an eye. The sigh I let out was the biggest, I could produce in a dress like this. When she arrived, I hugged her tightly, and she just blinked. Surely, it also wasn't something, the Elves of Mirkwood usually did, because this was the only reaction, I've ever got.

'You can not imagine, how glad I am' She lifted a brow, telling me, I was right, she could not.

'Actually, I am here to tell you, the prince wishes to speak with you.' she tried to say without any air in her lungs.

'Oh, sorry' I stepped back. She smiled, and waved me to follow. Legolas waited for me at the armory. Zella bowed, and left us. The prince walked toward me, with a bow in his hand. He gave it to me with some arrows, and nodded toward a doll, what was standing at the other end of the room.

'Yes?' I was holding the weapon miserably.

'Attack' he said simply. I blinked.

'With this?' I saw, he counted to ten.

'You can not use it?' he asked gingerly, being afraid of the answer. I just shook my head. He grabbed an arrow, held my arm, and the bow, and took it into the right position - probably. The weapon showed right to the doll's face.

'Just try it' he let go of me, and I did. The head of the arrow made a terrible noise, when it met a shield on the left. I lowered the weapon, but Legolas lifted my arm again, more, than the previous time, and gave another arrow to me. He nodded, and I shot again. It's head burst into the wood wall deeply, very far from the poor doll. Its surface moved, and the arrow landed on the floor.

'THE... THE WALL! IT MOVED!' I screamed in fear.

'Of course, you shot it.'

'BUT IT LIVES!'

'Everything lives, Noira. Especially a tree' he smiled. I just looked at him in disbelief. Well, human race had a saying: even the wall has ears... It didn't sound so stupid, after this.

'I'm... I'm sorry, Sir' I turned to the wall, and the prince laughed. I was sure, it wasn't the very first accident, what had happened here in its ten thousand year long life.

'Everything's fine, warrior. I will teach you how to use it, if you'd like to. But now... I guess, you have to stay here.'

'In the armory?'

'Not in the armory, but in the castle. We will go out to the woods for a checking, before the Sun goes down. I thought, you could join us, but not before you learn how the shoot. This land is more and more dangerous with every day.'

'I can save myself very well with my swords. I'd happily go' I said immediately with shining eyes. I heard him sigh, while I was holding my breath. He nodded, finally.

°°

I can not tell you, how excited I was. Being in the woods again (with the permission to come back), hunting again, fighting again. Oh, the adrenaline was running in my veins faster, than ever. I run into my chamber, grabbed the mentioned weapons, and sprinted to the gates with a wide smile on my face.

When I arrived, the prince, and the others had been there already. In comfortable, green clothes, while I was still wearing a light dress. Legolas looked at me from head to toe, so he didn't have to ask if I forgot something. I glimpsed Tauriel in the group, not so far from us, and Aleros, on the other side. The others were strangers to me. The elleth handed me a reins.

'Do you know how to... use... a horse?' she started, and looked at Legolas 'Or... there weren't horses in that land of yours?'

I was thinking, if I should have gotten angry for the supposition, but her voice was kind, after all.

'Honestly, I preferred to ride my bird' I smiled at her, and with a nice move, I sat onto the back of the beautiful creature. It was black, as the night. Noble, and it was looking like, he wouldn't drop me, till I was behaving nice.

Only two horses came with us. One for the prince, and one for me. I had no idea, why was I different from the Wood-Elves, who were walking next to us. Finally, I stayed silent. I had a much more interesting thing, I wanted to discuss with the blonde ellon. The sunshine painted the trees gold, but as we went deeper and deeper into the woods, soon, it went grey, and the air started to go cold. Cold, but not fresh. Somehow, in this part of the forest, it was not that easy to breathe. The air was just... heavy. I tried to inhale it deeply, and took a look at Tauriel. She was beautiful, strong, and full of life. In her every move, every single step, she mixed elegance with strength. It wasn't hard to believe, the crown prince fell for her. So sad, that it was not requited. Why was that a big problem, that she was only a Wood-Elf?

She turned left with another ellon, and two other guards turned right, leaving us alone. I waited a short minute, cleared my throat, but chose to whisper, as turned to the prince.

'You should do something. For example... Say some compliment or... or... stroke her hand.' I've got a confused look as a response, but a moment later, he made a weak smile.

'She would find it very rude, since I know, she doesn't feel the same' I took a questioning look at him, so he realized, I needed more information.

'In our culture, these things, that probably looks really small to you, hold deep meanings. You can not tell just nice things to somebody, who says, she doesn't love you back. Or you can not touch somebody's hand, only if you'd like to show, you love that person' he made a little pause 'Also... you can not hug the ones, you call friends, just because you are glad. If you'd like to do the things, what humans do, follow the river, and visit the city of Dale!' he said, with laugh in his voice. 'Well... since I know, Tauriel's heart is not mine, everything I would do was unacceptable.' he finished, and went forward a little, leaving me behind with my brand new questions.

Suddenly, he raised his hand. 'Daro!***' His voice was nearly a whisper, but I heard it crystal clear. He jumped off of his horse, silently, and I did the same.

'Get ready' he said shortly, but my blades have been in my hands already. Legolas nodded, and we stormed forward. The noises, we've heard just a moment ago, came from the near, where strong nets covered the trees from head to toe.

Was it too late to tell him, despite I've fought with them earlier, I was actually deathly afraid of spiders?

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

* Let the stars shine, when we meet again.

** Who brings to us this token of Doom?
The darkness will now fall
Our love for this land
Is deeper than the deeps of the sea

*** Stop!