Elven Scroll

Chapter Thirteen: Ruse and Starlight

Noira's POV

Freya led me across the halls, stepping proudly, wearing a pretty white dress, and that little flower in her hair. I tried to hide my anger. My greatest problem was not what the king of the dwarves said. No. It was the fact, that the king of the elves didn't deny it. What is more, there was not a single guard at my door. I was searching for that twenty ellons in armor, and found none. The king simply lied to me, because why not.

I wore a dark red dress, and the maiden did my hair into a very simple and elegant style. A little part was braided, but the most of it was hanging freely on my back. In my hometown, there was only one person, who was allowed to wear this color, so now, it honestly felt like I was a queen.

We stopped, and the guards opened the door to us. She immediately looked out, but couldn't see anything. I had an idea.

'Could you help me with the dress?' I looked down at the girl aristocratically. She nodded quickly. 'Then, follow me' I commanded, and we entered the hidden garden.

It was like a miracle. The light wind brought the soft music of a harp and flute. Tall trees grew in a big circle around us, and their white boles seemed blue in the dim moonlight. Ellons and elleths were standing on the glade in front of me, wearing glimmering white, silver, and golden robes. Most of them had silver hair, noble face, and they were taller, than the ones, I've known. Taller, than me, or Tauriel. They reminded me of the king instead, or the prince, I glimpsed in the far. They had to be the highborns – I thought. The Sindarians.

We were still standing at the door, on the top of the little stairs, what led to the guests. Slowly, all the heads turned toward us. I reached behind my back, and tried to find my maiden's hand.

'Freya' I said quietly, not taking my eyes off of the elves 'Why for God... for the... Valar am I wearing a red dress?' The elleth blushed terribly, showing me, my question was rightful.

'There was a red material on the tailor's table, and I thought, that' she pointed to the elves nervously '... that maybe it was because...' I waved, that I understood. Now, I could surely not act like one of them and just simply survive the night, sitting in a corner without a sound.

'I guess, nobody would mind, if you stayed a little and took a look around' I smiled at her, and after a bow, she disappeared. I lifted my chin a little, and walked down with elegant steps. Their gaze followed my every move. I looked around in the beautiful garden once again. The great oak tables were full of irresistible fruits and other things, I haven't seen earlier. Wine was flowing in the big fountains, and their surface mirrored the light of the million stars from the sky. There were not lanterns or candles, only the smooth starlight, what painted the silver robes noble blue.

An angelic voice hit my ear from the near. A tall, golden haired elleth was singing her song to the others, looking up to the darkness. Her voice enchanted me, I had to go closer. As I thought, she was beautiful, like a living goddess.

'Ú i vethed na i onnad
Si boe ú-dhannathach
Ae ú-esteliach nad
Estelio han...*'

'Nice to see you here' a male voice came from behind, and I turned to him quickly.

'Am I so frightening?' asked Fräynn.

Yep.

'Of course, not' I lied. I had to confess, he looked beautiful in this silver tunic.

'This lady is Yndira from the forest of Lothlorien' he looked at the elleth, who was still singing 'I surmise, you've never been there, but you really should once!' I nodded. That sounded great. We started to walk, and he explained everything, what was new for me. The unknown food on the tables was lembas, a traditional elven bread. Fräynn told me, one small bite from that was enough to fill the stomach of a grown man.

Some guests have been eating already, while the others were talking, or waiting at the entrance with a glass of wine in the hand.

'Are they going to dance?'

'Of course, all night long! However, the tradition says, only the king can open the fest. Only the Valar knows, why he is late this time...'

Surely not because he was searching for me in the woods only an hour ago.

The crowd went silent, turned its head to the door's direction, and then, I glimpsed him. The crowned head appeared at the entrance, and everybody's look followed, as the king took his slow walk to the glade with authority in his every step. The elleth, I was listening to earlier, found a place to herself on my right. Next to her, I felt like I was an orc.

Thranduil didn't look around, only forward. The guests bowed deeply, and I followed them exceptionally. His red robes went royal purple, as the night air cowered his form. His hair seemed white, as the first snow in wintertime. He looked enchanting.

His deep voice broke the heavy silence, as he greeted his guests from Lothlorien, Rivendell, and some other places, I tried to memorize. I needed to visit them once. I probably made a little daydreaming, because I just realized, he has finished his speech, and the ellon with the harp started to play a heartwarming melody. Suddenly, Thranduil turned around, and looked at me directly. A barely visible question run through his face, before it went back to its normal state.

I swallowed.

The middle of the glade became empty, everybody stepped back, and smiled at him. The king slowly walked toward me, what made me miss some breaths. When he neared, I honestly thought, I would faint, but not from fear. He closed the gap, and stretched his strong arm. To Lady Yndira of Lothlorien.

I kept smiling, but it felt like a hit into my stomach. They walked back, and bowed to each other. Both of them lifted the left hand, their palms met, but only that, and they started to walk around slowly, not taking their eyes off of the night sky. They lifted their other arms elegantly, and turned one alone, then, they met again. I would have found it wonderful for sure, If I could see it clearly through my held tears. I've never seen him with another elleth before. I've never even thought about its possibility, and now, I was forced to watch it from the first line.

I knew, he wanted to hurt me with it.

When the others started to walk again, or joined the dancing couple, I turned back to Fräynn.

'Let's drink something'

°°

As the time passed and the party was on the top, I tried to find the best bush to hide in. Even four glasses of wine was not enough for me to relax. The ellons asked me to speak about myself again and again, and asked questions I didn't want to answer. They touched my long ears, and looked into my strange eyes longer, than I wished. Some of them asked me to speak about the king's private things. About war, number of weapons, number of soldiers, attacks, protection, his next step with... I didn't even remember. Because of the color of my dress, they surely thought, I would know.

Thranduil was sitting at his table and was staring at the new empty glasses in front of him. There was a bigger group with him, but I found an empty seat next to him, and sat down.

'Why is it, my lord, that even the servants can enjoy your feast, but the great elven king is just sitting here, waiting for death?'

He took an irritated look at me, and then, I could tell immediately, he was not that sober to just swallow my words. He turned to the others at the table.

'Has Noira ever told you about her journey to our kingdom?' he smiled at me brightly. 'Or about her way of life before she arrived at the borders? I guess, that is even more interesting' and the guests, of course, looked at me with waiting faces.

My cheeks turned red. I took a killer look at the king, and opened my mouth, but then, he laughed and continued.

'Maybe, Lady Noira's silence came from the fact, her culture is not worth it to speak about it. Her relatives and land might be less interesting and glamorous, than ours' he sipped one from the wine. My face was burning.

My relatives might be not that interesting...

They might be not that glamorous...

Thranduil couldn't know, that I've lost all the persons, he was speaking about, but the knife had already been in my heart.

I jumped up, and stepped in front of the table. After I looked at him for a long moment, and cleared my throat, I started to sing the song, what my kin always used to sing on the celebrations.

'Leave the sleep and let the springtime talk
In tongues from the time before man
Listen to a daffodil tell her tale
Let the guest in, walk out, be the first to greet the morn
The meadows of heaven await harvest
The cliffs unjumped, cold waters untouched
The elsewhere creatures yet unseen
Finally your number came up, freefall awaits the brave'

These words reminded me of the thousand beautiful years, I've spent on those lands.

'Come, taste the wine
Raise the blind
They will guide you from the light
Writing noughts till the end of time'

I smiled at the surprised ellon, and stretched my arms forward a little.

'Come, surf the clouds
Race the dark
It feeds from the runs undone
Meet me where the cliff greets the sea...'

The faces have changed, the ellons smiled at me for the first time.

'Riding hard every shooting star
Come to life, open mind, have a laugh at the orthodox
Come, drink deep let the dam of mind seep
Travel with great élan, dance a jig at the funeral'

I've heard, as some of them joined me with the last phrases.

'... Come, surf the clouds
Race the dark
It feeds from the runs undone
Meet me where the cliff greets the sea!'

I turned to look at him with the great satisfaction, that I saved the memory of my kin, and showed to this Iceberg, what kind of culture mine was, but when I looked toward his chair, I found it empty. I bowed quickly, and turned around. A lord gave me a filled glass, and I chose to laugh with them and drink it. Later, I walked to Fräynn, who was talking with somebody, not so far from me.

'Lady Noira, I have to confess, your land has to be one of the most wonderful places in the world' started his blonde mate politely, and Fräynn continued. 'Could I say thank you for the song with a dance? Unfortunately, my voice is awful'

We laughed, nodded to the blonde ellon, and joined to the dancers.

'Does your kin have an own dance too, you would show me?' he asked, and I shook my head nervously. At that moment, I glimpsed at the king, who was glaring at us from the crowd, after he was too busy to hear my song. I've immediately changed my mind.

'Of course' I held one of his hands, placed it onto my lower back, and I touched his shoulder. I swear, I've heard Thranduil swallow. Fräynn let go of me quickly, but I took his hand back to its place. Our other hands met, and as I stepped back, he stepped forward.

'It is not that difficult, isn't it?' I smiled at him, and turned one in his arms. The color of his face reminded me of the wine, we've drunk.

Poor ellon – I thought, but it was totally worth it!

Thranduil's POV

Noira looked like a beautiful wild bird, as she was flying in my captain's hug. My heart was beating faster, as I was watching them from my table. Her red dress, the white skin of her neck and bare shoulders... She was like a destroying fire. I had to remind myself again and again, that she was currently in somebody else's arms. I waved, and my empty glass was full again. My fingers played a little on its side. Somehow I could not reach the end of my thoughts anymore. Her sweet voice didn't leave my mind. The smile, what she wore, the happiness and lightness, she was singing with, the miracle, she showed me... At the middle of the song, I needed to leave my seat, because I could hardly bear the space between us. Please, when she stretched her arms, I almost walked there.

'Such a pity, she hates me' I said to myself, and placed the glass to my lips again.

'Adar... you know, that's not water, don't you?' I heard my son. 'How many...' he asked shortly. I lifted my hand and stretched two fingers. Then, another one.

'You mean, three barrels?'

I waved him to go, took the glass down, and upset it. I could not take my eyes off of the elleth since an hour, and now, when I took a look at the lord on my right, who was speaking to me unstoppable, I saw the whole garden turning. I tried to concentrate, but couldn't answer the questions. I just nodded finally.

I raised my head from the table, and was wondering, when and how did my forehead ended up there.

'Are you feeling good, my lord?'

Nope.

I stood up slowly, and was trying to walk in a straight line, and act normal. I didn't want to end up in the spotlight.

After some awkward steps, I leaned to the wall, and touched it with my fingertips in front of me. I tried to reach my private garden, where I could take a little nap alone. There was no way for me to reach my chambers in time. I felt dizzy, I barely felt my legs, and saw where to step. However, I was glad for the dim light. Nobody was allowed to see the great elven king in a state like this. If I was looking like as I was feeling right now, I had to be white as the wall, or more likely literally green. I stopped for a moment to take some deep breaths.

'His majesty!' I heard someone call me.

Everything's alright, Thranduil, I trust you.

I continued my way, just forward, since, I didn't see anything clearly. Just forward. I was almost there.

Noira's POV

The party nearly ended, and the music slowed down. Some lords were sleeping on the sofas, others were taking a rest on the tables, and the strongest ones were just hanging and watching the last dancing couples.

I suddenly looked at the chair, where I saw Thranduil was sitting earlier, but it was empty. I turned around, but didn't see him anywhere.

'I guess, that way' Fräynn answered my mute question, and pointed to the left. 'It was a pleasure.'

'It was, captain' I said gratefully, and I disappeared between the trees.

The gardens were dark, I could hardly see anything. My famous elven eyes needed some time to see in the moonlight, not to mention, that I felt a little bit dizzy. As I was walking across the several little glades, I saw a little light in the far. If there was a pond there, that had to be the King's garden. As I neared, I saw another sparkling thing too. The water's mirror seemed silver in the moonlight, but this one was... red.

I started to run, and fell on my knees next to him. He was lying on his side in a quite unnatural position, only mere inches from the water. I found his crown in the grass not so far from us. His silky hair was a mess, and mostly hid his face. I stroke the tresses behind his ears, and tossed his shoulder. He didn't react. I started to worry, so grabbed him, and turned him onto his back. I placed my ear to his chest quickly to hear his heart, exactly when he started to snore.

I let out a sigh, and took an angry look at him.

Stupid man!

I was thinking of the great celebration, the fine wine, the exotic food, the dance with Fräynn. It would have been so good to dance with Thranduil too. I had to smile, when I imagined, as the king held me, and we were laughing to the night air.

Something, what will never happen.

I gently placed his head into my lap. The fact, that he was lying here on the cold ground all alone, while every other soul was enjoying his party on the other side of the bushes, made me sad. I leaned down and kissed the smooth skin on his forehead, and looked up to the million stars on the black sky.

Monster – I repeated the word again and again in my head, but I was unconsciously stroking his face at the same time.

I suddenly came to my senses, and remembered the dwarves in the dungeons. It was like waking up from a deep slumber. I let go of him and stood up. He didn't deserve any care from me. I took my way to the entrance, but took a last look back, when I pushed the latch down.

It was nearly dawn, the Sun was still sleeping, and didn't give any warmth to us, but the sky started to go lighter. I could see the icy fog, what slowly covered the ground till the eye could see. I stroke my arms. It was bitter cold. My gaze landed on the ellon.

I sighed.

I knew I should have called somebody to help, but he had to have a reason to come here. He surely didn't want anybody to see him like that. I sat back, and poured a little water onto his face. He immediately opened his eyes. I grabbed his arms, and somehow helped him to stand up. I planned to step one toward the entrance, when he suddenly babbled something and took a step right onto my feet. I've lost my balance, and we started to lean dangerously forward.

Oh no, oh no, oh please no...

'SHI-' I could not even close my mouth when, with a noisy splash, we were already in the freezing water. For a long moment, I could not think, or move, I was just sinking in the black material. When my feet found the soil finally, I could stand up, and climbed out to the grass. There was water even in my nose, not to mention my clothes and boots. I was glaring at the surface, searching for Thranduil, when suddenly, a blonde head appeared between the waves.

'Are you alright?' I started, but then, I saw, as his shocked face went red at the moment, he realized, it was me, who asked. Well, he woke up for sure. His glare was bloodcurdling. I stepped back, while he climbed out and looked around, touching the empty space of his sword. I swallowed.

Something shiny sparkled in the middle of the pond, and he turned to me with touchable anger. I tried to clear my throat, but it went dry.

'Eh... It was told... F-Freya told me that... having a bath in the starlight' I showed up to the sky '...can heal the soul' I started to retreat. 'S-So... just heal and...' my voice left me.

He kills me.

As he moved again, I immediately turned back, and started to run to the door. I didn't want to believe it, when I pushed the latch down, and it didn't open. It was closed all this time long. I hit it in despair, when he grabbed my wrist and turned me back. Feeling the door at my back made me sure I was captured. I could cry, I so much hated this whole thing already! The moments I had to feel I was stupid! And naive! And weak!

His eyes were boiling, and mine were tearful, as we were standing there in the lonely garden, wearing ice-cold wet clothes.

'You...' he hissed with his purple mouth, while grabbed my chin.

'I just wanted to help you' I sobbed.

His eyes widened. 'You are afraid of me' he said in shock. 'You honestly think, I will hurt you.'

'No'

'I can see it in your eyes'

'If you wish to know' I turned my head, so he had to let go of me 'I am afraid, because I would have a lot of reason to hate you, and leave you here alone, or not even searching for you anyway, but I could not!' my voice became louder with every word 'IF I CAN HATE YOU, IT IS NOT BECAUSE OF THE THINGS YOU'VE DONE TO THE DWARVES, OR THE THINGS YOU'VE DONE TO ME, BUT THE THINGS YOU'RE DOING WITH YOUR LIFE!' I yelled into his face from only an inch far. He opened his mouth, but I didn't let him interrupt me.

'BECAUSE YOU TOXIC YOURSELF! NOT JUST THE OTHERS, WHO ARE CLOSE! YOU DESERVE BETTER! AND I AM STUPID TO THINK IN THIS WAY! SO DAMN STUPID! AND I HATE BEING STUPID-'

'I don't need your pity' he said coldly.

'YES, YOU DO, BECAUSE WHAT YOU DO IS UNACCEPTABLE!'

'Shut your mouth-'

'PLEASE, ALL OF YOUR SCARS' I pointed at his cheek 'ALL THAT YOU ARE IS NOT VISIBLE TO ANYONE! HOW CAN YOU LIVE LIKE THIS?! YOU KNOW WHAT? YOU ARE JUST LIKE YOUR REALM! YOU BUILD HUGE WALLS TO HIDE AND-'

'SHUT YOUR MOUTH, OR I WILL!' he roared back, loosing his patience.

'IF YOU WANNA HEAR IT OR NOT, YOU BUILD WALLS AND YOU DON'T LET-' I continued anyway, when he suddenly leaned down, and his lips captured mine. I almost fell off of my feet, but he reached to my back, and pulled me closer till our chests met. My heart almost jumped out. I immediately melted into his strong arms and kissed him back, forgetting once I planned to argue. His kiss tasted like a mix of sweet honey and red wine, and was softer, than I ever imagined. His mouth's silky touch deleted my every thoughts in a blink of an eye. He stroked my back gently, and with a sigh, he pushed me away a little. Then, I cleared my mind again.

'... and you don't let anybody enter...' I breathed, and opened my eyes. The longing, I saw in his gaze, made me shiver.

'I am letting you enter at this holy moment' he wiped my tears away 'so shut that stubborn mouth of yours finally' his lips fell on mine again. I crossed my arms around his neck, touching his wet tresses, and let him keep me from falling. The Iceberg melted slowly. It seemed like we continued our debate in this silent battle, what tore us away from place and time, leaving the two of us alone in the middle of the pleasant nowhere, where we would be lost, if we broke apart.

----------------------

* Evenstar - The Lord Of The Rings: The Two Towers