Elven Scroll

Chapter Nine: Forgotten

Third Person's POV

As far as the eye could see, young birds were playing between the little clouds on the calm morning sky. The sharp shadows disappeared, and slowly, the forest woke up. Newborn deer followed their mothers toward the little elven river, colorful leaves were flying on the back of the autumn wind, and quiet elven voices filled the halls of the palace, and the little gardens as well.

Legolas was standing at the end of the huge oak bed, and did his best not to show how glad he was to the Valar. Even if their relationship was far from perfect, not what he imagined, hoped or needed, still, his father was the only relative, he had. He loved him. Before that day, he had never thought, the king could die, as simply as any other elves. As simply, as a silvan, a man, a dwarf... He was immortal in every way. At least, in the prince's mind. In the forest, suddenly, all of his fears appeared from a long forgotten, hidden part of the remembrance, and he was the little elfling again, living with his demons. And not just that.

There was a lot of things, what he planned to do in the near future, but ruling the realm was not on his list. He would have not believed earlier, that it was possible, holding a breath for days. Now, he knew it was.

'When has he traveled back?' asked Thranduil hoarsely, as he sat up in the bed. The early sunshine gave a warm, almost kind atmosphere to the royal bedroom, painting every furniture a pleasant orange, but as a contrast, the king looked like a living ghost. His earlier perfect silky hair was now hanging freely onto his shoulders, back and also hid the half of his still pale face.

'Just before dawn. He has to be still on the road to Rivendell.'

'What has Elrond said, again' he asked, holding his pulsing head.

'The poison was not similar to any toxin he has ever seen in Middle Earth. That is why healing you looked... almost impossible' Legolas finished, and watched, as his father stood up slowly, and called for his servants.

'Send a letter to him in my name. Write about my deep gratitude for his h-'

'I've already done it, adar' Legolas bowed, and stepped to the door to let the King get ready for the day. Two young maidens arrived with the great red robes, when suddenly, he turned back. 'I have to confess, I was very frightened. But... I was not the only one' he added, and in a blink of an eye, he could enjoy the king's full attention.

 

Noira's POV

As we neared to the gates after the confrontation with the orcs, I was more or less calmed. I had no idea, what had happened just minutes earlier in the forest, why the ellons hadn't healed the king yet, or why was that a big thing, that I wanted to touch his majesty's arm. The moment, I started to panic was, when I looked up at the prince, and saw that clear shock on his face. At the entrance, servants came toward us, and everybody disappeared on the way toward the healing rooms.

Everybody, except me.

Aleros grabbed my arm, and led me to the opposite direction. I still felt my heart beating in my throat. The dead soldiers, the blood, the king's white face, everything appeared in front of my eyes. When I cleared my mind next time, I found myself sitting on the ground of my lonely cell again. I could hardly bear, I couldn't see what was happening with the others. I was walking circles in the little cell nervously, and asked every single soul I'd seen there, what was going on. Nobody answered me. Slowly, but really slowly, I finally found a little peace.

Don't act like you were one of them, you fool!

But it was hard not to act like that, because again and again, I had the feeling, I belonged to this place. This place, these elves, even if I'd just gotten to know them a moon ago. Why not? I didn't belong to anywhere else in the world, anyway.

That's why I was ready to die on my king's side. Yes, I was.

I was ready to die for him, after he captured me, attacked me, and I was sure, he would never set me free in this life. He stole my freedom, my chance for a new beginning with the happiness, I so much desired, and I was ready to be slain, just for him to survive.

I hated him for this, with my whole heart.

On the next day, nothing happened. Nobody woke me up, led me to work, gave me something to eat or drink or even took a look at me. Sometimes, I've heard voices, what said something about the arrival of an elven lord. Lord Elrond, if I remember the name correctly. A second later, the castle went silent again. Deadly silent. I felt I was forgotten.

That was just three days later, when the well-known ellon waved me to follow him to the garden. His face hardened, when saw my appearance, and he allowed me to use the bathroom, before we would continue our way. That was the time, when I could finally wash the blood from off my hair and skin on my hands, face, neck, and I could change my dirty dress to another. I can not describe how wonderful feeling that was.

After I changed my blue dress to another blue one, I was thinking, maybe they thought, blue would be my color till the end of time, or maybe it was the gardeners uniform... I've never seen anybody else wearing this shade. Honestly, Zella tried to teach some basics about elven fashion, but I was as ignorant now, as I was on the first day. Why should I care? I didn't even find a mirror since my arrival. I would not even realize, if I'd have grown a third ear or a second nose.

As we took step after step in the huge hall, I saw, guards came back to their positions. Finally, we reached the gardens, and the servant stepped back. I started to walk forward, and realized, that two guards followed me on my right and left.

I stopped.

They also stopped.

I stepped again, and they did so.

Alright, it seems, today we will be hanging around together, right?

'Morning' I made a fake smile, but they were just looking forward without any response.

'So... you're just looking?' I tried again, but earned nothing.

'Well then... just... look' I sighed, and was really happy, when saw Zella nearing to us.

She greeted me with a warm smile, but the presence of the guards surprised her a little. She tried to hide it, and looked back at me.

'Sweetheart, today you're going to plant new evergreen trees with the others. Unfortunately, this darkness kills nature so fast...' her face went sad, but a moment later, she shook her head and made a bright smile. 'Oh, I forgot to tell you earlier. Imagine, around a week ago, his highness sent for me, and said, the attacker is in his dungeons now, and there is nothing to worry about for my brother! I... I really couldn't believe it. Because... I was sure, he didn't even listen to me when I asked his help.' I just nodded and blushed terribly.

'Really? I'm so happy for you, Zella'

Then, that hour of shouting into the king's face was not in vain.

I took a longer look at my friend. She was so much prettier, than before. Her face was round and always wore a smile. She bowed, and started her way with a big basket, what was full of white roses.

'Where are you going?' I followed her with a frightened face. I didn't know anybody else here and felt really lonely nowadays, actually. Zella had her own work to do, I could understand that, but I didn't see Fräynn since days, nor the prince, who's presence was as enjoyable as the captain's was. I didn't even see the king since the fight. By the way, as an illegal resident, I didn't feel his lack that bad, just strange. Long story short, I could not speak a normal word with anybody. And with these muted bodyguards, I surely wouldn't.

'Oh, I also thought, we would spend the day together, but it was told me only an hour ago, I will have some work in the king's garden. I have to finish it before twilight. Unfortunately, you are not allowed to come with me. Believe me, I've asked them about it' she took an apologetic look toward me 'Oh, once, you have to see it! I have never seen such a miracle earlier' she said with bright eyes. 'His garden is like a glade in the middle of a deep forest. His servants say, he spends a lot of time there. It is full of his majesty's favorite colors... And the whole air is smelling like lavender. Aaaand, there is a lovely lake in the middle. It's mirror is like the noblest silver in the moonlight. I have seen it only once at night, but I will never forget it' I looked, as she turned, and continued her way.

'We will slip in one night' she said quietly, maybe only to herself.

I started my work, and placed the little baby trees into the pits. If this task wanted to be a punishment, it didn't work. I inhaled the smell of the hundreds of trees deeply, and enjoyed the sunshine, as I gave water to the new plants. The others didn't say a word, didn't even look at me. Fortunately, the guards did. Their eyes followed my every move.

I felt a warm palm on my shoulder. As I turned back, I saw Fräynn's smiling face.

'Captain, it is so nice to see you again!'

'I am sorry for leaving you alone, warrior. My king ordered me to take his army to the North. We haven't done a big training like this since the Great War. I am afraid, something bad is nearing...' he took a care-worn look at me. 'And I am sorry for not being here, when you had to face the enemy. I should have left some power here in the case of an attack.'

Oookay. I thought, the king was stupid-stubborn-egoist-whatever, when he went there with that little group of ellons. But if it was true, they were heroes. And. He was not... egoist.

'I leave you now. I'll visit you tomorrow, because there's something, I'd like to ask for days.' he stroked his hand nervously. Hm. I just nodded. He turned, but suddenly stopped.

'Oh, something else. After you finished your business here, a maiden will show you the baths and give some clothes to you for the evening. King Thranduil wishes you to dine with him.'

'Wishes me to do what?' I laughed. I thought, I didn't hear it clearly. Fräynn also laughed, and shook his head, then left me alone with my question marks, what were lingering in the air.

°°

The little blonde maiden was crossing the corridors so fast, I could hardly follow her. After five minutes of running, she pushed a high door, and we entered a hall, what was full of great, hot watered pools. I was just blinking. She took my hand and led me to the biggest one. I was standing there for a while. The decoration literally stopped my breathing.

'Well, we are late, so hurry a little! I will be back soon with your dress 'and with this, she was gone.

The wood elves use the same bath, and just take their clothes off, and keep speaking? Looking at this miracle, the bathroom, I used earlier seemed like a cave.

I took a deep breath and my dirty clothes landed on the floor. As I was standing there naked, the whole situation was a little uncomfortable. Those nobles seemed too prudish to do this kind of thing.

AND WHAT TIME DO THEY COME HERE? I turned around immediately, hiding myself as much, as it was possible with two little palms.

Then I exhaled. I was alone.

I walked into the silver pool slowly. While my tired muscles were relaxing in the hot water, I took a longer look at the walls. They were full of climbing plants, light green, dark green, a little purple, a little silver... it was enchanting. The water was flowing from the walls, and its sound made my mind turning off. I closed my eyes, listened to the waterfall, and just opened them again, when the girl arrived with a light purple dress. I can tell you, in my world, only the queen would wear a clothes like this.

'Are you sure, this is the dress, I have to wear?' I tried to escape from the situation. This one looked tighter, than the previous one. My lungs would deform, for sure.

'Yes, my lady. It is lovely, isn't it?' she asked kindly, and I forced myself not to send a deadly look. At least, the guards were waiting for me on the outside. She helped me with the dress, and made my hair, as she said: she braided it.

'May I ask you' I started, while took some steps in my new costume – and almost fell 'Could you show me a mirror?'

'Follow me' she bowed, and led me into a little room, what had tall mirrors on its every side. I suddenly didn't realize, the lady, who was standing in front of me, was really me. My clean black hair, white skin, light dress and little silver jewels, what were shining in my hair and on my dress too... it was so unreal.

But stunning.

'We should hurry' she said, and immediately went out of the room. I followed her carefully. This skirt was longer, than the Milky Way itself.